You are currently viewing Auburn women’s team will start today the ITA National Women’s Indoor Championship

Auburn women’s team will start today the ITA National Women’s Indoor Championship

  • Post category:Tennis

The Auburn University women’s tennis team is set to compete in the ITA National Women’s Indoor Championship, which begins today, Friday, February 10, 2023. The Tigers’ first opponent will be 11th-ranked Ohio State, at 11:00 CT.

A live stream and live stats from Auburn vs. Ohio State at the Seattle Tennis Center will be available on the official ITA website, As reported by the Auburn University website, if the Tigers can defeat Ohio State on Friday, they will face the winner of the game between Texas A&M and San Diego on Saturday at 2:00 PM.

CT. The loser of each respective game will play Saturday at 11:00 CT. Ohio holds a perfect 5-0 record so far this season. As for the Tigers, Kaitlyn Carnicella got the SEC’s third consecutive Freshman of the Week honors, the league office announced Wednesday.

Senior Carolyn Ansari, now ranked No. 103 in the nation in singles, recorded a singles hit in each of Auburn’s last three games to improve her doubles singles record to 3-2. The rankings of Ansari and teammate Ariana Arseneault as a doubles team, saw an increase in rankings announced Wednesday, as the Tiger duo are now ranked 8th in the nation.

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States.

With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state. Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women’s track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website

Source link