You are currently viewing Auburn women’s team knocks down San Diego with a miraculous come back

Auburn women’s team knocks down San Diego with a miraculous come back

  • Post category:Tennis

Auburn beat San Diego on day two of the ITA National Indoor Championship, by a final score of 4-3. Next, Auburn will face the winner of the match between Virginia and No. 8 Pepperdine. As reported by the Auburn University website, DJ Bennett and Kaitlyn Carnicella defeated Claudia De Las Heras and Jordyn McBride by scores 6-3 on court three, then Angella Okutoyi and Adeline Flach beat Flippa Bruu-Syversen by the same score on court two to quickly claim the doubles title.

point for the Tigers. No. 8 Ariana Arseneault and Carolyn Ansari were leading their match ranked No. 15 by a score of 5-4 when the match was abandoned. Bennett fell to Elizabeth Goldsmith 6-1, 6-4 on court three and No. 95 Kaitlyn Carnicella lost her match to No.

93 Abigail Desiatnikov 6-2, 6-4. Now down 3-1 after losing the match on courts six, Auburn fought back as both Ansari and Arseneault took their second sets on courts one and two, respectively.
Arseneault took the third set of hers to win the match against No.

37 Colling Solymar by a score of 6-7 (2), 6-2, 6-0. Arseneault’s victory left the game all tied with only one game left on field two between Ansari and De Las Heras. The third set of the match required a tiebreaker, which Ansari came back to win 7-5.

The final score of that match was 2-6, 6-4, 7-5 (5). This is already the second time the Greensboro, North Carolina native has won the clincher in a 3-3 game, as Ansari also gave the Tigers a clincher win at Texas Tech on Feb.

5. Head coach Caroline Lilley said: “Whenever you play against well-trained and prepared teams, you expect a battle, and San Diego pushed us to the finish. Our replies in the second sets were fantastic as it was something we wanted to improve on compared to yesterday.

The tenacity with which we played down the stretch and the resilience that became the hallmark of our program made for an electric atmosphere.”

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States.

With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state. Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women’s track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website

Source link