You are currently viewing Auburn women’s team destroys Belmont and UAB!

Auburn women’s team destroys Belmont and UAB!

  • Post category:Tennis

Auburn University women’s tennis team got a doubleheader, beating both Belmont and UAB. The Tigers defeated Belmont 6-1, then destroyed UAB 7-0. As reported by the Auburn University website, in the first game against Belmont, Auburn came out of the gates a little slow.

Ali DeSpain and Anastasia Astakhova partnered for the first time on the third court and won 6-1. Freshman duo Kaitlyn Carnicella and DJ Bennett lost to Abi Solomon and Viktoria Kliimand on court two and Ariana Arseneault and Carolyn Ansari fell to Mariia Hlahola and Anastasiya Zholdakova on court one to give the Bruins doubles point.

Head coach Megan Falcon explained: “We challenged our team in our first game as we were very disappointed after the doubles. From then on, they dug deep and treated each other well. While they accepted being pushed, their level of tennis depended on their mentality.

When you choose to be in the right place, you will constantly improve throughout the day.”

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States.

With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state. Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women’s track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website

Source link