You are currently viewing Auburn women’s team beat Pepperdine 4-2!

Auburn women’s team beat Pepperdine 4-2!

  • Post category:Tennis

Auburn University women’s tennis team beat no.8 Pepperdine, with the score of 4-2, at the ITA National Indoor Championship in Seattle. Auburn’s next game will be at home against Belmont. Live streaming and live stats from the Yarbrough Tennis Center will be available at

DJ Bennett and Kaitlyn Carnicella quickly won on court three by a score of 6-2. Ariana Arseneault and Carolyn Ansari, was defeated 6-0. Angella Okutoyi and Adeline Flach won the tiebreaker in a closely contested match on court two with a score of 7-6 (7).

In singles, Pepperdine’s No. 16 Broadus had a three-court win over Carnicella 6-3, 6-0, tying the team score at 1-1. No. 67 Arseneault upset a ranked opponent for the second straight day by defeating No. 20 Janice Tjen in straight sets 6-4, 6-3.

Bennett also finished her match in straight sets, defeating Bunyawi Thamchaiwat 6-1, 7-6 (0) to give the Tigers a 3-1 lead. Much like Saturday’s game, No. 103 Ansari won on court two thanks to a 7-6 (5), 3-6, 6-0 win over 44th-ranked Lisa Zaar.

Head coach Caroline Lilley explained: “Speechless and humbled, that’s the best way to describe how we feel as a staff right now.

As we said after our first game here in Seattle, we coach the most resilient team in the country. Watch them embrace the difficult, loving monotonous routine one stitch at a time, speaks volumes about the character of our group.

Build the house you want to build and know that the details make the difference.”

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States. With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state.

Auburn University’s sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC). Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men’s swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women’s swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women’s track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men’s and 19 women’s. Auburn’s colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college’s football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website

Source link